Yes, I’ve also got an award eligibility post

I’ve been going through several of the posts recommending genre work that has been published throughout 2016 and promoting their own, and I’m really impressed with the all the great stuff out there. (And getting ready for a reading frenzy.)

For example, I’ve just finished rolling through A. C. Wise’s commodious What Have You Done, What Have You Loved? 2016 Edition and Fran Wilde’s Things To Read While Rebooting posts, both of which are musts if you want to find something good to read.

So I thought I’d contribute my own, much shorter list of my own eligible works and a few of the works that I’ve read and enjoyed over the past year.

Eligible Works

Sabbath Wine
Clockwork Phoenix 5
This story, about a father trying to put together a Sabbath meal for his daughter and her new friend during Prohibition, is one that I’m especially proud of.

Unfortunately, it’s not available to read online. SFWA members can find it as a PDF attachment in the Short Stories 2016 area of the SFWA forums. Otherwise, there is a video of me reading it at a recent NYRSF Readings session. (Or, of course, you can always buy the book! <g>)

With Triumph Home Unto Her House
Abyss & Apex
Near-future science fiction with a bit of social politics thrown in. A middle-aged middle-class woman tries to work her way back after a series of financial disasters and learns that following the rules doesn’t always work.

Recommended works

Unfortunately, it’s been a busy year, and I haven’t done nearly as much reading as I’d like, but here are some that come to mind. (Hopefully, I’ll add more over the next few days.)

Short stories

El Cantar of Rising Sun by Sabrina Vourvoulias
Uncanny Magazine #13
A lovely, poetic and tragic story. One of my favorites of the year.

Wilson’s Singularity by Terence Taylor
People of Colo(u)r Destroy Science Fiction! / Lightspeed
I have to say that I’m prejudiced in favor of this one because it was workshopped in my writers group. It’s a great story of how change can have society and personal effects.

Breathe Deep, Breathe Free by Jenn Brissett
People of Colo(u)r Destroy Science Fiction! / Lightspeed
Two kids text each other in a world that is uncomfortably possible.

A Handful of Dal by Naru Dames Sundar
People of Colo(u)r Destroy Science Fiction! / Lightspeed
A recipe changes through the generations but still helps keep descendants rooted.

The Book of May by C. S. E. Cooney and Carlos Hernandez
Clockwork Phoenix #5
Not going to say anything except this one made me cry and smile at the same time. Really.

Things With Beards by Sam J. Miller
Clarkesworld #117
A wonderful, frightening and touching follow-up to The Thing (1982 version).

Novels and Collections

Bone Swans by C. S. E. Cooney
A lovely collection of stories; it won the 2016 World Fantasy award.

All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders
I’m not usually a fan of novels where “apocalypse” is part of the story description, but I’m glad I made an exception for this one.

The Assimilated Cuban’s Guide to Quantum Santeria by Carlos Hernandez
Fabulous (in both senses of the word) stories with a nice sense of humor behind many of them.

Clockwork Phoenix #5 edited by Mike Allen
I’m sorry to be repeating myself here, but besides the story mentioned above (and my own), there is some really fine writing in here. Very worth checking out.

One thought on “Yes, I’ve also got an award eligibility post

Leave a Reply

